America’s Greatness is Greatly Exaggerated

Rand-Paul-Segregation-American-Slander

 

I must admit that whenever I hear individuals pontificating about “Making America great again” or “Taking our country back” or similar pronouncements, I must ask: Which America are you referring to? You can’t be referring to the same country I was born into.

They obviously can’t be referring to the country which promulgated the following:

  • The almost complete eradication of a race of people (see Native Americans)
  • The enslavement and disenfranchisement of another (see Africans)
  • The betrayal of Reconstruction and subsequently, almost an entire century of the Black Codes, Jim Crow, segregation, lynching and the Ku Klux Klan
  • Dropping, not one, but two atomic bombs on a civilian population (see Hiroshima and Nagasaki)

I could go on, but I think my point has been made. But, before I do, let me add that the United States is the ONLY industrialized country in the world which does NOT provide health care for its citizens. To my fellow Americans, who deem it necessary to promote this falsehood, I respectfully ask – STOP it! You are being disingenuous at best and very, very insulting at worst.

The truth of the matter is the United States came into existence promoting a lie: “…We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain inalienable rights that among these are life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness…”

I realize those who wish to believe the aforementioned will argue vehemently of America’s greatness by citing the industrial revolution, the roaring twenties, The New Deal and the space explorations as examples of that greatness. I get that, but none of these accomplishments can undo the misery our country has levied upon its citizens as well as on people around the world.

There have been many empires and/or kingdoms throughout the history of mankind. The only constant among all of them is that none of them are any longer in existence. Great Britain once boasted that “the sun never sets on the British empire.” To say the British Empire is a shell of its former self would be the grand mammy of all understatements.

Last evening while watching the Republican National Convention, I lost count of the number of times speakers, commentators and pundits referred to “Making America great again”, “Making America safe again” or “taking our country back.” To those who deem it necessary to continue to promote these falsehoods, let me suggest dropping the word “again” and you will not get an argument from me.

By not doing so, you will continue to manifest your ignorance, arrogance and lack of respect for a significant number of your fellow Americans. As a nation, we should be better than that, especially one which self-promotes itself as “the greatest nation God has ever created!”

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a comment